The Way I Want It To Be

Sigh. Okay. I lied. Turns out WordPress is still being a freaking bitch. For some reason my local connection is rejecting anything that has to do with WordPress. That means I can’t read my own blog, or other WordPress blogs, or comment on any blogs under my WordPress domain. I’m trying not to pull my hair out in frustration. I’ve only just managed to grow new hair. I don’t wanna be bald again. But if I ever become bald…Wordpress, you’re paying for a new wig. >:-(

Anyway. Life has been pretty frustrating. Things just aren’t going my way. Don’t you hate that? I think every. single. thing should go exactly according to the way I plan and want and need it to be. Don’t you agree?

Since the local connection in my room has had a lovers’ hissy-fit with WordPress, I’ve been parking my pancake-ass in my school dining hall. In fact, I’m sitting in the middle of the dining hall right now, using my school’s wireless connection to finally access my way into WordPress.

Here’s the thing: I’m paying $11 each time to sit here, drink lukewarm coffee, and use the internet. The least the school should allow me to do is “borrow” some fruits and salad bar ingredients to cook a decent meal back in my room. 

But noooo…I got a stern ultimatum from one of the workers: I cannot take any food out of the dining hall, or I’ll get into “trouble”. As if being forced into a pricey partial meal plan isn’t troublesome enough, despite the fact that I’ve got a kitchen and two good hands to cook.

As I said, things aren’t working the way I want it to be.

Add to that the fact that I completely forgot to do a final project for my history class. How the hell did that happen? I don’t know…it just slipped out of my mind. I finished my final essay a few days early, so I think I relaxed a bit too much. To think I was chuckling cheekily to myself and watching Breakfast at Tiffany’s (thanks for the rec, Christina!), while my fellow classmates stayed up all night trying to finish their essays. Guess the last laugh is on me. :-(

Yup, things really ain’t working the way I plan it to be.

Worse. I miss my parents. I used to call them whenever I got bored, or was feeling down. Listening to their warm and loving voices always cheered me up and left me feeling warm and toasty. But as I mentioned before, they are in freaking China. And having too much fun with their mission work to send me a measly “Hi how are you doing” email.

Did I mention that things aren’t working the way I need it to be?

So when things are a big fat mess, what do you eat? A big fat mess, of course:
It’s black. It looks like a soup made out of charcoal. But this time, this dark glob of mess is exactly the way I wanted it to be. Ah, the irony. I love it.

My mom used to make this for me in the colder weather. She loved it when I asked for it, because I never ever ask her to make anything else for me. When I called a month ago and told her I missed her black sesame seed porridge, she sent me a bag of black sesame seeds and a recipe:
IMG_1628 Since most of you can’t read it, I’ll translate it for  you…

Mom’s Black Sesame Seed Porridge

  • 1/2 cup raw black sesame seeds
  • 1/2 cup uncooked white rice
  • water
  • salt
  • milk (I used a mixture of almond and coconut milk)
  • sweetener

Rinse both the sesame seeds and the rice. Soak rice in clean water in a bowl. Set aside for at least 30 minutes.
IMG_1612 Meanwhile, toast up the black sesame seeds until nice and fragrant:
IMG_1611  The seeds may start popping. It’s okay. It’s supposed to. Please don’t start screaming bloody murder. You’ll make a bloody fool out of yourself.

Pour the soaked rice and seeds into a blender, together with the water that the rice was soaked in:
IMG_1613 Blend for a few minutes.
IMG_1614 Pour in a bit more water, and then blend until smooth:
IMG_1615 Boil up a bit of water in a pot, and then dump the pureed mixture into the pot. Bring to a boil, and add more water as necessary. Stir constantly, be careful not to burn it:
IMG_1619 Cook until the mixture comes to a thick, gooey, smooth paste:
IMG_1618 Season with salt. Store it in a container and in the fridge, where the stuff will become thick and goopy, like black clay:
IMG_1625Don’t let a single drop go to waste. This is precious stuff! After scraping down the pot, lick every bit remaining on the spoon: 
IMG_1621 To serve, mix about equal amount of the porridge with milk, heat it up, stirring constantly, and then sweeten to taste. Drizzle with coconut milk, and then serve with fresh bread for dipping:
IMG_1632 Oh my homemade goodness. Gosh, it smells and tastes like home. Just what the doctor ordered. :-)
IMG_1635 The black sesame seeds are imported from Korea. This is the legit, expensive stuff. Please, no “Made-in-China” crap (Sorry, China). Genuine Korean sesame seeds is the way to go!
IMG_1633 Really, I can’t give you a definite measurement of how much water, milk, or sweetener to use. It all depends on your own likings. Some people like it thicker, some people like it sweeter. So just make it the way you want it!
IMG_1636 It’s been a whole day since I ate this, and my room still smells wonderful…
IMG_1638 Can you see the little grains of sesame seeds in there? This stuff is black gold, baby! It’s so freaking good for you. Apparently, it helps you retain your youth. An elixir of youth!
IMG_1641 Oh, and this porridge is not complete unless you’ve got some bread to dip in…
IMG_1644 Now, do yourself a favor and go make this dish. It’s rather exotic, with a real toasty intense flavor…the only word I can think of is: Exquisite. Mmmm…

Question of the day: What do you do when things aren’t going the way you want it to be?

I throw a hissy-fit, and then I eat something good. :-)

93 responses to “The Way I Want It To Be

  1. (((((((((huge hugs))))))))
    The cafeteria thing is crap. I totally forgot a midterm once. I was exhausted and the ONE time in my life I decided to skip class was the total wrong day. I was humiliated. But he did let me make it up, hopefully you can make up your project too?

  2. that’s the most blizzard looking food! not in a bad way, just in a “whoa crazy” way
    when things aren’t going my way i have to make myself take a big step back, and realize if i’m not in control it’s ok if things aren’t perfect. and then i have a cookie.

  3. hehe Oh no! I can’t believe I was partially to blame for you missing a project! Hope the movie was worth it! ;)

    I’ve never seen anything like that soup, but oddly enough it looks delicious! I’m glad you were able to smell and taste a little bit of home, esp. since you’re homesick! Don’t worry, Christmas will be here soon and you’ll see your parents!!

    When stuff isn’t going my way I’m usually a big baby. I curl up in bed and have a good cry, or I pout and watch a movie. Thankfully it doesn’t take me too long to snap out of it, once I get that out of my system. I’m too stubborn to just settle on the fact that stuff isn’t going my way – I either make it go my way, or I find an alternative that I can live w/!

  4. I’m surprised, this porridge looks similar to a black sesame dessert we eat in Hong Kong (but without rice), I’m sure I’m gonna love your version.

  5. Yikes. That scares me. =O

    When things aren’t going my way, I get mad and hit things. Then I feel better. Unless someone sees me hitting something and tells me to calm down. Then I get REALLY mad.
    <3 <3

  6. That looks so interesting, I want to try it!
    When things aren’t going my way, I have a glass of wine and watch crap TV

  7. *hugs* I’m so sorry about all this stuff that’s been happening, Sophia.

    I’m a really forgetful person, and miss the deadline for schoolwork too, so you are not in this alone. For the parents thing, you will be back home before you know it! It’s almost winter break, just hang in there a wee bit longer.

    I wish I could go and solve your WordPress issue for you, but I’m not a techie person (even though I’m an engineer >.<). Is there a library that you can go to for free at usc for wi-fi?

    I love black sesame porridge! My mom makes it with pine nuts instead of milk (so i guess it's kind of like pine nut milk?) and brown rice instead (she doesn't even like brown rice all that much, but loves the additional texture it gives to the porridge–I do too :) ). Total comfort food! Maybe I should ask her to make some for me…or make it myself!

  8. :( Sorry about the WordPress woes. At least I can still read your wonderful, insightful posts :]

    Ack! It’s the worst when things don’t go my way—no wait, the worst is when everything just turns against me! I’m sorry about your project and parents :( But it’s at times like these that we just have to find the strength to dust ourselves off and try again. Being stuck in a rut is bad, but being stuck in a rut forever is worse. (There’s my version of optimistic thinking.)

    Oooh, I can’t WAIT to try that sesame seed porridge!!! I usually hate plain white rice porridge, but I bet the toasted sesame seeds give it a wonderful, fragrant flavor. Face it—sesame seeds lend their flavor well to anything! x] I never thought about blending porridge, though. Interesting! BTW… your new hair is damn cute, so please don’t pull it out :]

  9. When things aren’t going the way that I want, I usually cry … and then I ask people for advice and think about what to do :-)

  10. I usually eat and watch bad reality tv lol

    Honey you look so pretty!

  11. Hey girl – a similar thing happened to me a few weeks ago when WordPress upgraded. Seth from really helped me out. Contact him and see if he can help!

  12. Sorry to hear about all of the woes. Blogging, school, your parents….ugh, life just isn’t the way you want it to be right now and that totally sucks! But don’t worry darling, it WILL get better! I promise it will. ;)

    Love the porridge idea. My MIL makes me Pumpkin Kasha when I am sick or down. It’s another simple Russian dish that is basically just pumpkin, groats and milk but for some reason it is the most unbeleiveable thing to me. Maybe its because of how I feel when I eat it. ;)

    Hope you feel better soon sweet girl! Take care.

  13. Ohhh Sophia, all the little things in your life that aren’t working out seem so frustrating! Having no internet is really irritating, forgetting about a history project definitely ranks up there as a terrible thing to go wrong, and feeling homesick is just the worst… hopefully, you will be able to get in touch with your parents soon!! I totally understand your frustration… you have every right to be. Here’s to hoping that everything will straighten out soon… until then, I send you a virtual hug!!

  14. yeah, things haven’t been going my way for a while now. it’s hard to keep on truckin, right? that sesame dish looks a lot like something i had as a kid. i can’t remember where, because my mom never made it.

  15. I’m sorry for the whole connection thing. I know how it feels, my dad just let go of his ‘parental control system’ phase, thank goodness, it was driving me CRAZY. I couldn’t go to Wikipedia to do a school research! But I was more bothered by the fact that I coudn’t read blogs or comment, lol.
    But you seem more unlucky than me since you have to PAY. Sorry, that didn’t made you feel better xD

    Thank you soooooo much for the ‘black sesame soup’ recipe! My mom USED to love love love the pre-packaged stuff, but now that she went to China this year, they don’t taste as good and misses the ‘good old stuff’. We have some seeds that my mom already toasted (haha, I screamed so many time when I heard the ‘pop! pow! pop!’…=-_-=’) and I’m gonna make this for her as a surprise!
    I’ll let you know how it turns out :)


  16. Hey…I miss my parents too, especially at the end of semester…it’s so hard being away from them for 1 year! what make things worse, I need to cancel my ticket back home this winter break because of my paper schedule. So I can only video chat with them, or call them as much as possible. Co-sigh.

    The sesame porridge is my favorite – now u just remind how good my Mom is . I told her I miss that sesame porridge last time when I got back home, and she bought HUGE , ENORMOUS amount of that instant black sesame porridge powder. Can’t say enough I much I love my parents.
    Thanks for the recipe, even if I can’t go back home this winter, I can still make some porridge and show to my parents.

  17. that SUCKS! re: teh project. wow. don’ t eat that on a date without gnashing the teeth to make sure no black shit in the pearly whites.

    when stuff don’t go my way..i kinda just mope about it. and go lift and move steel coz i’m angry.=D

  18. Black Sesame Seed Porridge?? Now that’s a new one. It seriously looked like burnt charcoal and I was about to feel ever MORE sorry for you! But hey, the way you explained it I really want to try!

    So you finally got caught in the cafeteria? bummer. And you forgot to do a history assignment? Double bummer. I’m tell you what I do when things aren’t going my way, I usually eat……I’m one of those stress eaters. Or I just get really mean and yell at Nick (yeah, poor guy, he gets the brunt of all my madness). Since I’ve been practicing yoga lately, my anxiety and stress form things not going my way has subsided a bit. It’s quite nice. Today I noticed my hair was white on the tips. Argh. Deeeeppp breath…..

  19. my dining hall is the same way!! i used to snuggle bananas out of it tho..muahahah .. you look so cute makin that porridge!!

  20. I like this version, must try it out one day.

  21. Bummer about the wordpress drama…

    When things aren’t going my way, I just think… somethings are out of my control… wish I had better advice.

  22. this appeals to me on so many levels – I am making black gold tomorrow after I get some sesame seeds – sorry but mine will probably come from a paskistani spice vendor and I hope they are fresh!

  23. Sorry aren’t going you way at the moment. Don’t worry it’ll turn around again and go back to your favor. When things aren’t going my way, I tend to throw a hissy fit, too. Just not out loud. Quietly inside I’m totally freaking out. lol.

    Going back to things you know how to do well when times are down is a good way to go. Like comfort food. ;-D

  24. im sorry you are having some negativities in your life :( things will get better, i promise!!


  25. ahh i feel your pain. sending great big giant hugs!
    i try to listen to my mom’s logic when it comes to things like this (which seem to happen to me all the time as well) which is “well, what can you do?” and the answer ends up being nothing. i guess that would be called going with the flow. what a foreign concept.
    never had myself any kind of porridge, looks interesting :)
    feel better!!

  26. stupid connection! i miss your posts! that’s what makes ME feel better LOL.

    But, in addition, when things aren’t going my way or turning out how I’d like them to be, I tend to cry (not so productive) or I try to take a step back from whatever it is (preferably by watching one of my favorite tv shows) and reapproaching the unpleasantness from a different angle.

    Or I call my mommy to bitch! LOL

  27. Sorry bout the bad stuff going on…. same here… I don’t know if it’s the weather or what. Anyways I hope you feel better & thanks for the recipe. Never seen this before!

  28. Sophia, you know I *heart* you. But that is probably the least photogenic thing I’ve seen on your blog yet! :P No worries though, from experience, I’ve learned the not-so-pretty food photos are always the tastiest!!! I have a huge bag of black sesame seeds in my cupboard right now that I think would be a perfect candidate for a dish like this one :)

    I’m not good at dealing with things that don’t go my way either. Instead of throwing a hissy fit, I cry. And then drink some tea of coffee. Thankfully, things usually have a way of evening out. So a series of crappy things means a few good things are coming your way!! :)

    LOVE that pic of you!

  29. I’m glad that at least your sesame seed porridge went your way! Looks delicious! :) Some comfort food always helps when things don’t go my way… Hope things will get better soon!

  30. I will definitely use your sesame seed porridge recipe one day, especially because I love it and I think it makes a healthy snack/comfort food for kids…

    I don’t know why you can’t load my blog easily… :P Just be patient heheh… I do find that when the connection is low, it is harder to load the page.

  31. I hope things start going your way soon! And the porridge looks so yummy and comforting. I love rice pudding, custard, etc, so I am sure I would love this.

  32. ahahah yeah maybe tooo much…. good luck with finals!

  33. You ate something with rice?!?!

    Hm… I usually just get sulky and pissy. I’m actually sulking right now.

  34. Oh I just drooled into my keyboard! I ate lots of black sesame things when we went to Japan and I loved the flavour – I so want to get some and do this right now but that is so not possible – thankjs for the recipe I may just get there one day. As for me, I eat too much chocolate, get cross with the people I love the most and generally want to go to sleep or whinge non stop or both. Soon gets better with luck.

  35. head up girl!!! Wishing you the best!!!

    mmmmmmmmm porridge!! :) looks wonderful!

  36. I never tried black sesame, but I love the “normal” kind, I guess I would love this too :)
    I hope the wordpress stops bugging you :)
    When I have a crappy day? oh boy. I can’t handle them good. But I usually do something I like, like blogging or watching tv-shows, and stuff my face with tasty food :)

  37. I am not to good when things don’t work my way. I get frustrated and cures the entire world for it and then cry. Talking to some one helps a lot and normally it is the husband or Mummmy!!!

    I hope wordpress spares you from its wrath! That pudding is freaking amazing!!! I am going to try it!

  38. Wails! That’s what i’ll do! HEhe..
    And then EAT! good god, not a very good way of handling crisis hor?? ;p

    Lookin fwd to nx yr when ya in Sg/Msia!!

  39. I’m sorry things aren’t going well for you. :( But that stuff sounds delicious AND naturally gluten-free. So it’s now on my to-make list. I’ll let you know how it comes out… except I’ve never had anything faintly like it before so I’m probably not going to know if it comes out anything like it’s supposed to. Regardless, I’ll let you know. :)

  40. Never seen this, looks so cool! Can a soup look cool? Yep, I think so, this one does!

    Sorry you’re feleing not the way you wanna feel. Hang in there, we all have these periods…I give you a big virtual hug (hope you can feel it through the screen!) and sending positive vibes all the way from Europe…I am there if you need someone to scream/shout at;) Good luck, better days to come love!

    xxx Julia (Taste of Living)

  41. I always call my mom. When I can feel the stress getting to me my mom always knows just what to say. I can understand why it’s so frustrating that your parents are in China…at least you have maternal comfort in a bowl of black sesame porridge!

  42. So you’ve started school! That’s so exciting! But yes, there are always downsides. Stupid cafeteria rules being one of them.

    The black sesame porridge looks really quite delicious. Is it an acquired taste? I wouldn’t mind trying it.

  43. When things don’t go as planned I usually curl up into the fetal position :P Heh.. I’m not too good at handling stress :x

    I know I keep repeating myself, but I am in LOVE with your cooking! If I can find the seeds around here I might do some experimenting :) Thanks for the authenitc recipe love!

  44. I’m so sorry you’re having such a rough day, girl! When I feel like things aren’t going my way, I make a list of everything I am thankful for. I then realize that things aren’t really as bad as they seem.

    Hope you feel better,

  45. I hope things get better soon. When wordpress pisses me off… I stay pissed off. For quite some time. I never know how to fix it.

    When things aren’t going the way I want them to, I try to write out an action plan to follow and get back on track.

  46. Interesting! I’ve only thought of poppy seeds as garnish usually… Does this end up getting expensive to make?

  47. I’m sorry you’re having such a hard time! Computer problems make me SO, SO mad. And there’s just nothing you can do about it, which makes it that much worse.

    I hope things get better soon. In any case, your comfort food looks amazing!

  48. i’ve never seen a recipe like that – it sounds good!

  49. Haha! I can TOTALLY relate about the crazy cafeteria nazis. It really shouldn’t be a huge deal if you take a little food and I have to say, I’ve become pretty crafty at sneaking food out.

    As for the recipe, THANK YOU!!! I am studying abroad in Taiwan at the moment and love love love love 湯圓 filled with black sesame. I was recently thinking about how I could just eat the sesame because that’s the best part and I think this is it! First stop tomorrow is the supermarket to buy some black sesame :)

  50. I’m totally a control freak, so I feel you on that one!

    The sesame seed porridge looks, you’re right, like weird gloop, but I love sesame seeds. I’m sure it is delicious!

    Now…I’m going to have to go huntin’ around in the local K-mart for black sesame seeds. Come help me, please, Sophia!

  51. I have had a similar week. My favorite food always lifts me up:-)

  52. i haven’t talked to you in so long and haven’t seen any recent photos of you. oh my goodness – beautiful! i’m so happy to see the progress!

  53. nothing like mom’s recipes to lift the spirits. i’m so intrigued with this dish, i must try it! hope your week starts looking up!

  54. Girl, I’m sorry things aren’t going well! Just think, finals will be over soon and then you will be home and relaxing.

    I usually cook when things aren’t going my way. Or run. Although with this injury, running is not an option at the moment. Sigh.

  55. Sending hugs your way Sophia!! Hang in there, you are almost to winter break! :D

    Not sure about your sesame seed dish though – but its a must to have bread for dipping!

  56. I would love to try the black sesame porridge, very intriguing! so sorry about wordpress, I can see your blog quite well though. Let me know, maybe I can help you figure this thing out.

  57. When things don’t go my way, I’m such a brat. I usually throw a hissy fit and then move on.

  58. oh yum!! this sounds great. I love how certain foods can totally remind you of things. I have certain comfort foods too I eat if I get homesick. I just love that connection. I cant wait to try this out. Looks fabulous as usually girl! I hope all is well and that you have a better day! You are awesome!

  59. Pitching a fit is par course for me. :) And eating waffles. Waffles cure everything.

    I’m sorry WP is mean.

  60. Aww I’m sorry about your not so fun situation. Whenever I see the first few lines of your posts in my reader, I always chuckle, because lately its been along the lines of “WordPress is being a freaking bitch!” haha :) Makes me laugh.

    But your sesame seed mess looks amazing!

  61. Wow, I am so sorry things aren’t going how you would like. I usually try to get my mind off it by going to do something I like and I can control. Like going to the movies, or hanging out with friends. Sounds like you might have some more school work to do first though. Either way I hope it all works out, especially with your project for school.

  62. I’ve heard that black sesame seeds are so good for the health. I’ll have to look for some and give this a try. It looks so pretty with the coconut milk drizzled on top!

    P.S. I love Breakfasts at Tiffany’s! I may just have to watch that tonight! ;)

  63. You’ll have better luck Sophia next time!
    May be a firewall isn’t letting to connect…

    Adore this black dish :)



  64. Your comfort dish from home is very unique! I’ve never heard of such a dish, but it actually sounds good even though it looks like mud!

    Just keep thinking your break is coming soon!

    And, I not only forgot to do an assignment in college, I actually missed a mid term! So, it could be worse for you :0)!

    Take Care, sending you happy thoughts

  65. How sweet of your mom to send you some of the good stuff to remind you of home. AW!

  66. My mom & dad went away to another country 2 months ago for a few weeks and I was so surprised at how much I missed talking to them. I guess we really do need our parents!

  67. laurasworthlesswords

    Lol that looks like a really fun recipe, in your first pic I thought it looked like a piece of really burnt toast!

    Sorry to hear things arent going to good, seems like your having one of those times where everything just goes wrong at once. First of all dont worry about your essay to much, normally you seem to be so on top of things and very studious so Im sure your professors understand it was a one off and I`m sure you`ll probably not do it again!
    That must be a real pain having to go to the cafeteria for your net connection, couldnt you sneak some of the food into your bag? Like fruit and stuff would be pretty easy to pop into a bag.

    Hope things brighten up for you, xox

  68. hugs! bummer about the cafeteria, can you get free wifi at the library? if they have comfy couches maybe it’d be better :)

    glad this pudding helped send warm fuzzies :)

  69. Awww, sorry things aren’t working out Sophia! You can’t control most events that happen in your life, but you can control your attitude. It isn’t easy, but try to see what each situation has taught you and what lessons you can take into the future with you.

  70. I’ve been having wordpress issues as well!
    What a cool looking soup that is.

    When things don’t go my way I either get upset or REALLY down in the dumps. I actually down in the dumps today. I haven’t done anything!

  71. Uggh I have college food nightmares. I didn’t have a kitchen the first 2 years. All food was dining hall or microwave! I have had my share of crying tantrums, like last night, and then I try to be rational and positive to work through each problem I am having. Feel better!

  72. There’s nothing like comfort food to help me feel better. Now, I’ve never had Black Sesame Seed Porridge (let alone your Mom’s) so I’m not going to judge but the color alone doesn’t look very comforting. I’m just going to take your word for it!

  73. Sophia dear, sometimes things just don’t seem to go right. I get that really crappy feeling too. But on the bright side, we always have God to sustain us through every circumstance. So take heart and stay strong ya? I’ll pray for ya… Oh btw, I love love love black sesame! It’s one of my favourites! Hehe…

  74. Wow, I have never heard of black sesame seed porridge before but reading your description of it really really makes me want to try it now! I actually have a jar of black sesame seeds in my cabinet right now… although they’re probably not the good Korean kind you recommend. Hmph.

    I’m sorry you had such a crappy day! I hope things get better tomorrow and the Internet problems resolve themselves!

  75. Isn’t it funny/frustrating that when things don’t go your way, it isn’t just one thing but a load of them. Then you have to consciously say, ok its not going to bother me, it will get better and then, voila it does! However, I could see my day rapidly improving with a bowl of that incredibly tasty looking porridge. I cannot wait to give it a try.

  76. LOL at WordPress paying for your wig! I think I’ve had something like this using peanuts as well as sesame seeds (not together) and it’s really good. When I get frustrated I firstly throw a bit of a tantrum and then regroup and strategise. But tantrum must come first :P

  77. **HUGS*** sweet thing!! Stick through it, things will get better. I know it’s a tough thing to hear, but I’ve been there, pushed through, and saw better days :-)

    What interesting looking soup/chili!!

  78. I am so sorrry! I hope tings get better for you!!!

  79. cookbookapprentice

    This looks wonderfully comforting! I would love to try some!

  80. Mmm, black sesame. I used to scrape that good stuff out of all the rice mochis and chinese buns (don’t eat white bread).

    I guess I’ll have to try making it myself one day, following your *exquisite* recipe.

    When things aren’t going the way I want them to, I get angry. Then I might possibly revert to crying. And then I realize what I really should be doing – praying.

  81. Wow, this looks like some crazy stuff! But I am sure if it fixed your mood, it must be good!! You are always introducing me to new foods–love it :-)

    I’ll keep you in my prayers dear!!

  82. I gotta say… the first pic looks like poop :S but it looks much more appetizing in the following ones, and I think I may actually try to make this!!

    When things don’t go my way… I usually cry. Go for a run. And then find a new strategy ;)

  83. DiningAndDishing

    I’m sorry you miss your parents! That is always tough. Have you tried Skype?? Totally free!!
    I love it :O).

    – Beth @

  84. sesame helps your hair grow

  85. keep smilin sweet sophia the black porridge is great

  86. What a comforting dish, I love family recipes!

  87. Crap, I hate it when it happens, hate comp issues!!! Love the black mess though =)

  88. WordPress has been being weird for me too! That porridge looks really yummy :) Ive never heard of anything like that before, but I am def interestead in it.

    I hope your enjoying your weekend.

  89. I seen this dish many times but never tired it ha I should next time I see it. When I make something n it goes wrong I have a hissy fit too and get really cranky then I eat out lol

  90. Pingback: I’m a Teamwork Hater « Vanilla Swirl's Blog

  91. Haha, I told ya I’ll try the recipe…

    My mom ate it all :)

Leave a Reply

