Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star…

Twinkle twinkle little star, How I wonder what you are…

Who doesn’t want to be a star? I’ve always wanted to be one. Not literally,  of course, but figuratively. I wanted to be looked up upon, someone who shone out, someone who was superior and outstanding.

But you know what? We are all stars. God created each and every one of us in His most unique and personalized hands…Everyone is outstanding. Everyone is extraordinary in their own way. I realized that again today in my college prayer group.

One thing I really love about our prayer group is how freaking different every one of us is. We’ve got the talkative, friendly Allen, the intelligent, brooding George, the fiery, humorous Joanna, the sweet, sensitive Joyce, my carefree, good-natured brother, the stoic, yet gentle Mark, the bright, cheerful Colleen, and of course, the oh-so-fabbity fab fab ME.

We’re all so different with completely individualized backgrounds and personalities, but somehow…we blend well together. We all bring our own unique flavor into the group, and though there are a few individuals who appear to stand out more than others, I think the group would lack a bit of flavor with any one of us missing.

You don’t have to try to be “dominant” or “striking” to be a star. You just have to be you, the single, unique person that you are, to be appreciated and accepted by others. Because what’s more important than standing out in a group is to be able to blend in and be part of the complementing flavor of the group, and to ultimately be a positive contribution.

Which brings us to this week’s BSI ingredient, feta. Oh, feta. I just adore feta…

Why? Because it’s so…individual and unique, yet it blends so incredibly well with a myriad of dishes. We should all be like feta! It’s just so…creamy and crumbly and tangy and stinky (Not that we should be stinky, but you know what I mean!). Just a little bit of feta goes a long way, and it is extremely versatile in that it works with pretty much any ingredients.

Need proof? Check out my recipe for this week’s BSI, hosted by Zoe. Usually when you say feta you would think Greek, but I decided to flaunt my Asian roots and use feta to accent an Asian-fusion dish…with a bit of unexpected twists here and there…

Earthy Feta Raviolis in Feta-Rosemary Broth

For the ravioli filling:

  • oil or butter
  • 2 large garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 small shallot, minced
  • 4 large shitake mushrooms, chopped
  • handful of dried figs, sliced
  • handful grape tomatoes, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary
  • drizzle of balsamic vinegar
  • juice of half an orange
  • salt and pepper

For making ravioli:

  • 20 wonton wrappers
  • water
  • big chunk of feta, crumbled

For broth:

  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 sprig fresh rosemary
  • fresh ground black pepper
  • handful of crumbled feta

For the ravioli filling, first heat up the butter or oil, then toss in the garlic, shallots, and mushrooms.
DSC01915 Cook until soft and fragrant. Stir in the figs, tomatoes, and rosemary, stir to cook through. Squeeze in the fresh orange juice, drizzle in a bit of balsamic vinegar to taste, season with salt and pepper.
Cook for about 5 minutes more, then set aside.
Next to make the ravioli, lay out a stack of wonton wrappers and prepare a small bowl of water.
Spoon a tablespoonful of the filling on top of one wrapper, top with a teaspoon of feta.
Dip your finger into the bowl of water, wet the sides of the wonton wrapper. Then take another piece of wrapper, wet one side of it, and press it down on top with the wet side down. Repeat until you use up all the filling.
Then heat the broth in a small saucepan with the garlic and rosemary. When it starts to boil, drop in the raviolis until cooked. Remove the rosemary sprig and the cooked raviolis.
DSC01927 Place the ravioli on a serving plate, then pour the remaining broth all over. Top with more feta cheese, sprinkle on some fresh-ground black pepper.
DSC01928 Wowee~
This is a feta-worshipping dish, through and through. The broth was infused with the fragrance of garlic and rosemary, but feta was clearly the star of the broth as it melted slowly into it.
DSC01937 And even with such glorious filling of mushrooms, tomatoes, and figs, it was the feta that really rounded it up to a perfect balance.
DSC01930 Definitely, the taste was sort of Asian-fusion with the earthy shitake mushrooms and the wonton wrappers, but it really worked.
DSC01939 I loved the slippery slurp of raviolis, and it was extra-flavorful together with the rich broth.
DSC01938 One huge bite to make me happy…

Oh yeah. Feta rocks. Notice how it becomes a star in this dish without even trying too hard? Just in its pure, natural form, used in appropriate amounts, and it really makes the dish…pop.

All right, girls (and guys, if there’s any), let’s go on shining! Shine and radiate with your individual-ness (that should totally be a word)!

Question of the day: What do you think is your own individual quality that makes you…pop?

P.S. WHAT IS UP WITH BLOGGER? I’m having some trouble commenting on people’s blogs because of the word verification that is cut off by the boxes! Anyone else having such problems?

95 responses to “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star…

  1. adventuresofrecovergirl

    Wow, that looks amazing! Must try (feta+pasta= Jenn’s a happy italian!)

    As for what makes me stand out? I hate to admit it but it has to be my sarcasm. I can find almost anything funny, and I like to put that spin on things. It gives life a nice little positive spot and who doesn’t love to laugh? Fo real yo :P

    Have a great night love! <3 Jenn

  2. Oh yum, I LOVE feta!! Actually, feta and blue cheese are another example of two foods I hated as a child, but love now!

    Your ravioli looks divine. Food Network style! Seriously, very delicious, thanks for the recipe.

  3. Wonton wrappers? They drive me crazy. ;p

    I guess I have to second the sarcasm… it is probably one of my biggest defining traits!!
    <3 <3

  4. SWEET I just bought wontons. Nom nom. Bobby loves it when I make wontony things.

    Hmm… what makes me pop – I’m actually a really good listener. But at the same time I’m very sarcastic and a bit facetious. If that makes any sense, haha.

  5. You are inspiring me to try to make tofu “feta” for my baby girl.

  6. yay – we are all stars in our own little way :) this post made me smile!

  7. I love the post girlie it is so uplifting and true… i think it is important to learn who you are and embrace it… it is good to know and love yourself and be proud of every unique aspect of your being. ohh and the food looks amazing too haha… have a great night love!

  8. Wow, Sophia, I love this post! You are so genuine and uplifting. :) It is so true that we are all our own unique “flavor!” What a great metaphor!
    And honestly, you are such a great cook! Man oh man! :)
    Hmm, now I’m going to try and think of what makes me a star, as much as I’m tempted to just skip over that part. God made me a star when He made me genuinely encouraging and always bringing others up, not tearing them down! That’s what makes me a star. :D Great post, lovie!

  9. I *LOVE* your asian twist. I always twist up my parents’ chinese cooking with western ingredients… they don’t like it but I have fun :D

  10. oh, yum yum yum yum. i haven’t made homemade ravioli in a long time – you may have just inspired me! this looks unbelievable!

  11. Wow, that is another incredible dish, Sophia! Must have taken a while to assemble (trust me, I have mandu experience), but I know it is totally worth it. I mean, just look at that!

    Love how you point out that we should aim to blend in and contribute, rather than stand out alone. You have such great principles and ideas my dear.

    Hmmm, I have to say my pop quality is my child-like innocence. I am honest, trusting, naïve, and also dislike violence and blush easily. I have not been exposed to too much of the world’s evils, fortunately, which makes me unaware of lots of “typical” things a girl my age should know. My friends give incredulous looks at the level of my innocence.

  12. traveleatlove

    You are a food genius! Seriously, every recipe is so unique, creative, AND looks good!
    My pop quality and biggest downfall is my big fat heart. Sometimes it is a curse, but overall, in the long run, I believe it will be a blessing!

  13. Delicious use of feta…mmmmm! :D I don’t know the answer to your question. It’s like an interviewer asking you your best qualities. ….Uhhhh. Wellllll. Ummmm. hee hee…nervous giggle….

  14. I will never have patience to make ravioli, so you SO are a super STAR in my book!

    Actually, you are a superstar because your posts are always so honest and uplifting. It’s because of that honesty that I actually was quite a bit more honest with myself in my post today. You’re inspiring :)

    My “pop” quality would have to be my quick sense of humor and sarcasm. I also have a great appreciation for the natural beauty in this world–it keeps me centered.

  15. Love feta and those look great! Hmmm not sure what makes me ‘pop’…I guess I’d have to say my honesty. I pretty much tell it like it is, which can turn people off or make them love me. In my more cynical days it got me in trouble but lately I find that honesty is a really positive force in my life.

  16. OH. MY. GOSH. That ravioli looks divine. You’re such a good cook!! What makes me POP? Umm… I am a very loving person. I try and find the best in people. Although at times it can be hard ;) <3 jess

  17. Wow, I love what you said at the end of your intro–that the ability to blend and work well with a group is more important than standing out. You have such amazing insight, Sophia! You never cease to amaze me.

    And I have to say, I loved what you said on my post about portion sizes–that a huge portion automatically downgrades the meal for you, because it says that the chef isn’t confident enough in the quality of his food. I never thought of it like that, but it makes total sense! Maybe a big part of the problem is that America needs to shift its focus to quality over quantity.

    Those raviolis look so good! We made pumpkin ravioli once with those wonton wrappers, and it was delicious. Your feta raviolis look so gourmet :D

    Hmmm… maybe my determination and drive? When I have a goal in mind that I really want to accomplish, I WILL get it done :D I don’t give up easily ;)

  18. wow that looks amazing…I think I just heard my stomach cry a little lol.

    I would also have to say me drive…some might call it stubbornness though =).

  19. I just had feta today too! :) Although by no means in such a gorgeous way

    I’m not sure if it makes me “pop,” but people have told me I come off as very self-content in a reassuring way, like even if they don’t know me they feel they can approach me because I won’t judge them.

  20. It’s been a while since I’ve made dumplings. Yours look so delicious and comforting.

  21. Looks delicious!…and I love, love, love feta!

  22. What a postitive, uplifting post! :D

    I also love feta, and wow, that ravioli looks killer! I love your mushroom and fig combo…brilliant!

  23. The raviolis look fantastic. True story: last night, the boyfriend and I were talking about how awesome ravioli is, but how it’s so hard to make. Props, lady!

  24. Wow, I wish I’d been there to help you eat this!!!!

  25. I love raviolis and shiitake mushrooms!!

  26. Nicely done with the ravioli. I don’t know ay one person who doesn’t love feta.

    What makes me stand out? hmmm……I really don’t know. No wait. I’m very altruistic. I tend to think of other peoples agenda then mine second.

  27. Oh yum, feta’s my fave!

    Hmm, I think I’m pretty fab all around lol. Seriously though, I’m a really good listener and I think people feel like they can really open up to me without judgement.

  28. I love the idea of using wonton wrappers to make ravioli! The dish sounds delicious; I’m sure the toddler (and the rest of us) would love it. I’m a bit lazy when it comes to cooking lately, so I’ll make it when I’ll feel a bit more ambitious… :)

  29. Oh, BTW, the toddler LOVED your sundried tomato/red pepper & artichoke pasta dish again! :)

  30. Hehe true! Everyone should strive to be the feta! :P

  31. feta DOES rock. it’s one of my favorite cheeses for sure!

  32. Ohh that ravioli looks amazing!! Feta is one of my fav cheeses…mmm…I’ve gotta try this!

  33. Oooh! Feta with figs — all encased in pillowy wrappers? What a fab dish.

  34. Wonton wrappers as ravioli? Genius!
    My “pop” quality would be that I’m driven and never to say no to an adventure.
    I sing “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star” + “Baa Baa Black Sheep” whenever I stretch to make sure I hold the pose for 30seconds. Ha! :D

  35. fearlessfabulousfulloflife

    wow– that looks AMAZING!!!!!!!! seriously feta and figs is just INCREDIBLE!!!!!!!

    hmm lets see– the aspect of my personality that ‘pops’?? maybe my overly-optimistic attitude which i’m sure can annoy people at times :) hehe i guess its better than being a debbie downer though!!

    xoxoxox j

  36. lesouefsbrouilles

    wow you are soo amazing! how do you come up with so many creations?

  37. LOVE feta! I actually just bought some goats cheese (shock/horror- ED? PFFFFFT!) and am debating how to use it…a fig combo is on my list. Fruit + cheese = awesome. Though squash + goats cheese = equally incredible.

    My quality? Hmm…I would say my sense of humour, though it’s pretty “British” and a lot of people don’t get that I am joking and that I am just being mean and sarcastic until they get to know me!

  38. you have to be hands down the most creative and amazing chef around! I am always in awe of your incredible dishes!

    So in regards to the earlier stuff in this post, I just have to tell you that you are such an incredible writer and you speak with such genuinty and love. Everything you said, I feel so strongly about and couldn’t agree with more. It’s so true that we are all a culmination of “stars” of different sizes, colors, brightness, glow, and sparkle. We all have something that makes us unique and interesting and a contributor of something wonderful to the world. Together we form a brilliant skyline that people can admire. :)

    p.s. thank you so so so so so much for all your love and hugs on my last post! You are the sweetest person around and I cant thank you enough!

  39. That looks fabulous! sure a winner!

  40. Wowee. I love reading your posts, to get amazed every time I see your new inventions. Haha, lovely stuff(:

  41. Wow! Your ravioli look so perfect and delicious!

  42. We are all feta!

    Haha, brilliant post girlie ;)

    Love the metaphors you always use, so poetic!


  43. What a great post! And you’re so creative with your food! Awesome stuff. I think what makes me *pop* is my sincerity towards people – in compliments, in my support, etc. I love to make people feel loved – through showing them my love for them!

  44. All my favorite ingredients wrapped in one little pouch…YUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Figtreeapps

  45. Omg, I looooove feta. So, so good. I agree, it can be good in anything, not just Greek dishes. The best part about it is that it’s so flavourful, you don’t have to pile it on to get its delicious taste :)

    Hmm…I guess my “pop” quality would be my niceness? I try to be nice and polite to everyone I meet, no matter how rude they seem! I’m a “kill em with kindness” type of gal. Often how I get people to talk to me as a reporter :P

  46. Looks like the perfect submission for BSI!! Absolutely delicious! Love the idea of using it in the ravioli and sauce! perfect. Wonderful job!

  47. Those photos are magazine-quality! Gorgeous!

  48. Feta rocks, and your photos are great….I’m not sure on my trait, that would probably be something to ask someone close to me…


  49. OMG! You are killing me with the ravioli. I LOVE feta but can’t have dairy so that really stinks! Looks great though:)

  50. great feta use! that ravioli looks fabulous.

  51. What a great recipe! I keep forgetting about BSI. I need to start checking it every week. I used to hate feta, but I’ve developed a taste for it recently.

    I’m sorry about blogger problems. No idea what’s happening. Do you open the blogs into a new browser? Perhaps that would help.
    I can’t comment on WordPress blogs at work when I use Firefox but I can comment just fine if I use Internet Explorer. No such problem at home. Very odd.

  52. This is absolutely fantastic! Thank you for submitting this!

  53. Finfishing my coffee and running to the store. The ravioli is gorgeous and I adore it in brooth – the feta broth tickles my fancy.

  54. holy gourmet my dear – that looks FAB-YOU-LOUS! but i couldn’t have expected anything less from fabulous you :)

    i loved this post – its great to know that we can shine best when being ourselves. because ultimately staying true to who YOU are will compliment everyone around you. i like to think i add some humor and lightness to things – this gal will talk to anyone!

  55. Creative much?

    Note to self: Must use wonton wrappers to make ravioli.

  56. Such a beautiful, beautiful post!! Not only are your photographs heavenly, and you recipe oh my goodness, gorgeous, but I love love love your incredible metaphor for feta cheese! I think you’ve created a beautiful new mantra – we should all strive to be like feta cheese! So true! How important to remember to treasure our unique accomplishments…

  57. The first time I used feta in a salad,my hubby searched the whole kitchen for the source of the ‘stink’,then he refused to even try the salad when he realized that it was the origin of the stink-he,he,he.That was the first and last time feta has entered my house!

  58. This looks fabulous! I love feta and goat cheese and sometimes bleu cheese!
    What makes me pop? Good question…. will have to think on that one!
    Thanks for the uplifting post!

  59. Nice recipe submission!! I’m having issues with blogger too and it’s driving me insane!

  60. Oh, I love feta! Looks delicious!

    My one quality that seems to stand out is my sense of humor. I’m sarcastic. I like to poke fun at life. I like that about myself :)

  61. me being random…

    1) Your raviolis look deeeeeeeeelicious and slurpalicious. I want some!

    2) I just noticed on Zoe’s blog that you selected corn when you hosted BSI. AAGGHH! I love corn. If only I had stumbled across your blog/learned about BSI earlier!

  62. you are fabbity fab fab! i couldnt have said it better myself. and so is your recipe! xoxo

  63. that is some awesome looking ravioli! i really need to start cooking from scratch.

    i think my style reflects my personality to a T, so that would probably what makes me pop :)

  64. I thought it was so brilliant of Zoe to pick feta, which I love (even the low fat French version at TJs is absolutely irresitable). Your filling combo sounds fantastic–love the fig and feta together.

  65. Oh the ravioli looks AWESOME! How do you come up with such tasty dishes!

    I have an award for you!

  66. I have never cooked feta at hme..shud do it now..ravioli in any form is my fav..but ya as long as its veggie..I think i wud try it replacing the chicken stock with veg stock.

  67. Yum! Feta is great! Did you know there’s a soy version too? So even I can still enjoy :)

  68. “we are all stars”
    that is just so beautiful.
    anything with feta is pretty much amazing!

  69. I heart feta too. It makes everything taste so much betta!!!

  70. OK, how embarrassing but many friends and family know me as the person who just falls asleep everywhere and anywhere. Everyone I know has a pictures of me sleeping. I’m narcoleptic. =( I’m glad my loved ones get a good laugh out of it.

    BTW, I love feta and I hate those word verification things. I can’t read most of them.

  71. This is incredibly delicious looking ravioli. I am going to try this, I just have to, because I can’t resist the dried fig in there. You are truly such a talented cook my dear!

  72. Delicious ravioli, a very interesting combination as well!

    Im having a few probs leaving comments it seems to take a few gos before it will accept it.
    Thank you for your lovely comment on mine and your *hugs*, made me smile lots :-).

    I really love your take on being a star :-)

    Have agreat day

  73. I really enjoyed this post from beginning to end. You start of so optimistic about yourself and others. it’s a perspective and attitude that I am trying so hard to adopt, but I am treading the fine line of not being hokey or fake. i really want my attitude to permanently change.

    And I loved teh quote:
    Because what’s more important than standing out in a group is to be able to blend in and be part of the complementing flavor of the group, and to ultimately be a positive contribution.

    Being a positive contribution in a group, class, to the world is ultimate success, and it’s harder to do when you stand out. I think that was great insight that each of us is different and have our own qualities and contributions to add.

    Finally, your ravioli looks so so delicous and creative. All the flavors seem like they would go so well together but I would have never thought of it.

    I hope you have a good weekend. Take Care!

  74. what a great recipe! i’ve been having trouble with blogger too. grrrr.

    i used to want to be a “star” all my life. then, when i started getting some of the “star treatment” it freaked me out. all we can be is the best we can be and know we can’t depend on others to let us know how special we are.

  75. oh gosh yum that looks really good…

  76. What a great post! I love this recipe, and I too enjoy the “slippery slurp” of ravioli. Even more than the food, I love the intro. Reading your words really hit the spot today. :-)

  77. Oh my GOD your ravioli are making my mouth water!!! They look so good! And the feta is just icing on the cake!

  78. Oh I looove feta! That dish looks so good!

    I am having trouble with blogspot also!

  79. Ohhh my that looks so yummy!

  80. I adore this post! I smiled at the “We are all stars” part because it’s so simple.. but sometimes I don’t realize that I shine brightest when I’m being myself (pretend that isn’t the CORNIEST thing you’ve ever heard). What makes me pop… um. I like to think that I’m a good listener? And somehow I always seem to make people laugh using the stupidest things possible, without trying to.

    Enjoy your evening!

  81. Wowow I love the filling! I should try it in homemade ravioli!

  82. Gorgeous ravioli :) It looks like some amazing comfort food!

    Blogger has been doing that for me too! Every single comment I try to leave it does that.. so weird :/

  83. Omg, I love ravioli in broth, “in brodo” in Italian. I love the idea of figs in the stuffing for a hit of sweetness.

    BTW You are totally a star . . everyone loves you!

  84. I have never tried feta! Geez, there is a lot of food I haven’t tried yet–your recipes are the push I need to get going and trying these foods! I love the recipe–just bookmarked it =) Thanks deary!

  85. I love the filling in these! I have a whole ton of wonton wrappers that have lost their way. I see ravioli’s in their future. You are fabbity fab – you shine brightly, you inspire, and you are one of a kind! I’m known for being the voice of reason where their is none and for being a ‘rock’ – extremely dependable and unwavering – as my bff likes to say.

  86. omg those ravioli look beyond awesome! totally going on my “to make” list.

  87. I love love love this! I am a feta worshiper through and through and this is making my mouth water. Delicious and so beautiful!

  88. I loved this, from the ravioli (YUM!!!!) to the reminder that we are all STARS!!!! :) :)

  89. Sweet and Fit

    this looks increible!!! im drooling!

    hope you win!

  90. I cannot tell you how much I want to taste that ravioli right now… looks so yummy I want to lick my screen. Nom nom.

  91. Gorgeous! And they look beyond delicious – I love feta too! Congrats on tastespotting!!!

  92. The ravioli looks amazing! I’ve spotted those wonton wrappers at the store and wanted to buy them but didn’t have a specific recipe in mind to use them…NOW I definitely do!

  93. this looks absolutely amazing, fantastic job!!

  94. Im so sorry I missed putting this in BSI, I will add it asap!

  95. What a great idea to cook these in a rosemary infused broth!

Leave a Reply

